Indian Nations Youth Sports

Football => "Ask the Ref" => Topic started by: Run14 on November 07, 2020, 06:44:43 pm

Title: Please clarify
Post by: Run14 on November 07, 2020, 06:44:43 pm
Today at Hilldale it was forth down and Glenpool declared to the side judge that they were punting.  Glenpool proceeded to attempt a 4th down run up the middle of the field and were way short on yardage.  After 15 minute stoppage and debating with both coaches they allowed the punt of 20 yards after they attempted the 4th down play.   Please explain this rule.
Title: Re: Please clarify
Post by: Director of Officials on November 07, 2020, 11:13:54 pm
I will have to speak with the officials on that. The rules just states you either declare auto punt or you don't.  Never seen someone get both, possibly a misunderstanding on what the coach elected to do? 
Title: Re: Please clarify
Post by: Shaffer5 on November 08, 2020, 10:39:14 am
What happened was we had a ref that admittedly didn't know that they were allowed to declare in 3rd grade. It was an honest mistake, but Mac was there from Glenpool and came down to show the refs the rule. I had been in the building at the beginning of this, but spoke to Mac afterwards. That is where the confusion came from. Luckily it didn't cost our boys the game, but it did make it a litte more interesting.
Title: Re: Please clarify
Post by: Director of Officials on November 08, 2020, 11:54:52 am
Yes I spoke to the officials this morning.  Glenpool did say they wanted to punt and the official on that sideline didn't compute that it was an automatic punt.  Referee was surprised Glenpool was going for it on their own 8 yard line as well but he didn't hear them declare punt.  With the side official stating after the fact that they did say they wanted to punt we would likely have to treat it like an inadvertent whistle and replay it.  There is no right answer here, someone was going to upset and with good reason.  Thankfully for the officials (and the team it went against), they did go ahead and score from the 28 yard line after they allowed the 20 yard automatic punt.

In the future, both the officials and the coaches need to make sure what the team wants to do on 4th down before anything else happens.  Referee said he definitely made sure after this situation and he will from now on as well.