Indian Nations Youth Sports

Basketball => "Ask the Ref" => Topic started by: bbates34 on December 04, 2017, 10:44:48 pm

Title: Time out use
Post by: bbates34 on December 04, 2017, 10:44:48 pm
The basketball rule book is very vague on time-out usage.  I have a question regarding when a time-out can be used.  I ask because it has happened to me before and different leagues vary on the topic.  My question is, can a time-out be used after a basket is scored by my team?  As soon as the ball comes through the net can I immediately call a time-out?

I had this scenario happen to me in a YMCA league so I would like to know for future reference.  We were down 4 points with 6 seconds left, we steal the ball and lay it in with 4 seconds left, so now we're down 2 points and I, as the coach, immediately call a time-out to stop the clock.  Otherwise the 4 seconds run off and the game is over.  Apparently, you must have possession in that league to call the time-out and I was given a technical foul for calling an ill-advised time-out.  In the INBC, can I call a time-out in this scenario?  Otherwise, the clock will run out without even inbounding the ball and the game is over.  I appreciate the answer in advance.
Title: Re: Time out use
Post by: Director of Officials on December 14, 2017, 10:24:28 am
The ball is dead once it goes through the basket so yes you can absolutely call a timeout (as long as you still have timeouts to burn.)  Never heard of the YMCA way, seems a little unforgiving - seems like they were treating it like you didn't have any timeout left? 
Title: Re: Time out use
Post by: bbates34 on December 17, 2017, 11:07:40 pm
Thanks for the clarification. I had timeouts to use but the ref came over and explained to me that I can only call a TO with posession or a dead ball situation after a blown whistle. Not after a made basket.  Thanks again!