Author Topic: Tackle covered up  (Read 289 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

egooden

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +1/-0
Tackle covered up
« on: September 25, 2019, 10:24:56 am »
Iím new to this league, but do we play by NFHS rules for the most part?

Also, doesnít the offensive tackle always have to be covered up?

Thank you guys for your help

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Coach12

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Tackle covered up
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2019, 12:40:22 pm »
Pretty sure thatís only if he is a two striper

egooden

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Tackle covered up
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2019, 12:58:09 pm »
Thank you.

zebra99

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +9/-4
Re: Tackle covered up
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2019, 09:38:07 am »
NFHS rules do not require the tackle to be covered.  The only requirement is that you have "at least" 5 players on the Line of scrimmage and no more than 4 in the backfield.  Obviously that's not the full 11 players and you would typically have 7 players on the line of scrimmage including 2 ends (either tight or split).  Many teams will run an unbalanced line that leaves the tackle or even a guard as the last player on one end of the line which is perfectly legal - except...   The INFC, however, has a rule that say a 2-stripe player cannot be on the end of a line and must be covered up by another player.