Author Topic: Clarification  (Read 344 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

clark13

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: +73/-28
  • Proud dad to #13
Clarification
« on: September 26, 2020, 02:38:20 pm »
Could please clarify the 8 men on the line of scrimmage rule?
If it don't challenge you it dont change you

Hilldale Hornets 6th Grade DC

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Clarification
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2020, 02:49:34 pm »
there is no rule on 8 people on the line of scrimmage.  the rule is you can only have 4 people in the backfield. 

clark13

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: +73/-28
  • Proud dad to #13
Re: Clarification
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2020, 03:05:16 pm »
Ok, thank you. Was told today it was ok for 3 men in the backfield and 8 on the line. Was told it was a new rule, just TE was not eligible.
If it don't challenge you it dont change you

Hilldale Hornets 6th Grade DC

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Clarification
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2020, 08:56:53 pm »
that is a legal formation but only the players on the end of the line and those in the backfield would be eligible pass receivers (so maybe they were saying the TE was covered up? 

clark13

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: +73/-28
  • Proud dad to #13
Re: Clarification
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2020, 11:26:34 pm »
So, that would make the 8 men on the line legal?
If it don't challenge you it dont change you

Hilldale Hornets 6th Grade DC

AllIn21

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Karma: +32/-7
Re: Clarification
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2020, 02:44:30 am »
You could have 10 on the line if you want. As long as you know that only the two wideouts are eligible

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Clarification
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2020, 10:48:37 am »
that is correct, only the two on the end of line of scrimmage and technically the QB.

clark13

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: +73/-28
  • Proud dad to #13
Re: Clarification
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2020, 11:09:05 am »
Thank you.
If it don't challenge you it dont change you

Hilldale Hornets 6th Grade DC