"Ask the Ref" > "Ask the Ref"


(1/2) > >>

Long story short:

Is tripping the ball carrier a penalty?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Director of Officials:
Yes it is illegal, they changed it 2 years ago I believe.  It is not unsportsmanlike though (you only get 2 unsportsmanlike penalties before being ejected - that would not count towards an ejection.)

Thanks for the quick reply!

So the penalty is “Tripping” 5 yards from spot of foul.   <<?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 I didn't know they changed this rule. But they did. If this is pertaining to the 6th grade game between BA and Jenks that was definitely tripping.  But here's the exact rule and the penalty enforcement.

RULES 2-45, 9-4-3o (NEW),
9-4-3o PENALTY (NEW)
The foul for tripping has been
expanded to include the runner.
It is now illegal to trip any
opponent. Tripping is the
intentional use of the lower leg
or foot to obstruct an opponent
below the knee. The penalty is
15 yards.

CEU, thanks for posting the verbiage!
15 yard’er! as it should be. Thanks INFC for the rule change!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version