Author Topic: Rule Clarifications  (Read 492 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Coachof10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Rule Clarifications
« on: October 20, 2020, 09:30:26 am »
Two questions from Saturday's 3rd grade game.

First while on Offense the opposing team had 2 stripers lined up though in a 3 point stance out on top of our slot receivers when asked the ref said he is covered by a player so that is ok.

Second the opposing teams skill players on offense would run over to their coach who would be on the field to give them the play. When asked was told that is up to the refs if that is allowed or not.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 01:04:26 pm by Coachof10 »

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2020, 12:38:28 pm »
Yes a 2 striper can be lined up out wide but there has to be a receiver on the outside of him and the receiver has to be on the line of scrimmage.  The 2 striper must be in a 3 point or 4 point stance. 

QB/RB/WR run over to their coach for play calling all the time, at most levels of play -  as far as the coach being on the field that is probably going to depend on how far out on the field.  A couple of steps on the field to call a play is not that big of a deal for most officials - out to the numbers and we are normally going to ask that he move back.   

Coachof10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2020, 01:00:16 pm »
Thanks was just wanting some clarity because in the rule book it states a 2 striper cant line up any further out then Head up with a TE even if there is not a TE on that side

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2020, 02:35:13 pm »
I think that is for defense but let me double check - I have told someone they could do this so if it has happened and it is not supposed to I will correct it. 
The rulebooks says they can only be a lineman in a down position.  I took that as long as they were covered up they could line up outside BUT if we won't allow a 2 striper outside of the end on defense it would make sense that a 2 striper could not line up outside of that on offense as well.  Let me run it by a few people for clarification. 

 

Coachof10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2020, 03:05:08 pm »
Sorry for the confusion the the other teams 2 striper was on Defense and they had him out Wide in a 3 point stance in front of our slot receiver. So when I brought it up the Ref said that he was covered by the receiver so it was fine.

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2020, 03:57:17 pm »
on Defense a 2 striper cannot be lined outside of head up where the Tight End would be lined up (so one spot outside the Offensive Tackle if no TE) 

Coachof10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2020, 04:09:40 pm »
Thanks for your quick replies. You may bring that up to your guys. They did great officiating just one thing that I felt was incorrect but didn't want to press to hard. The defense didn't start doing it until the 2nd half and we do run outside a lot so maybe an adjustment the opponent had that their boys hadn't practiced so were just lining up to far out. 

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2020, 05:05:05 pm »
I most certainly will thank you for bringing it to our attention. 

Riggs99

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2020, 09:14:13 am »
just to clarify though. Can a 2 striper (on offense) line up on the line of scrimmage no matter where on the line as long as he is covered up and in a three point stance?

                                                 

 

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2020, 09:28:56 am »
No he has to be inside the TE as well.  Someone asked me this a couple of weeks ago and I told them that they could - trying to figure out who it was (going back through my messages) 

cowbyfan1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +8/-21
  • White hat, Back judge, umpire, All around good egg
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2020, 08:08:23 am »
So to clarify (again) all offensive 2 striped players have to be inside of the TE with a normal line set with a TE (Right next to the offensive tackle) and defense can be no wider than head up on the normal TE set as well regardless if the TE is there or not?

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Rule Clarifications
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2020, 12:25:37 pm »
That is correct, there seems to only be one except to this and that is when teams run the swinging gate as someone pointed out to me this week.  We do allow this because we do allow the 2 striper defensive line to line up with the rest of the offensive line away from the center on this play.  So the big boys are still lining up with the big boys.