Author Topic: Is Targeting a Penalty in Youth FB?  (Read 326 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

MAC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +3/-0
Is Targeting a Penalty in Youth FB?
« on: October 14, 2019, 10:30:54 am »
I'm sure it's maybe called out in the INFC Rulebook somewhere, but I figured a lot of you would know the answer already.  Plus, I think it's helpful to create some awareness here, for the safety of these youth players.

In our game this past Saturday, the ref on our sideline was refusing to call multiple targeting penalties.  Meaning, a player leading with the crown of his helmet, and basically spearing another player (ball carrier) directly in the helmet.  Their helmets were the first things to make contact in every case.  Although the Ref never flat out said it was not a penalty, it happened so many times to the ball carrier, and right in front of the his view, that I think the ref either wasn't completely sure if it was a youth penalty, or maybe I'm in the wrong and it's not a penalty at this level.  It's a tough topic, as it happens inadvertently too, and youth can't always be taught to control it.  As a coach, I get it.

Can anyone shed some light on this one for me?  So, the question is, is leading with the crown of your helmet and spearing the ball carrier helmet to helmet a penalty in youth FB?

Just to be clear, I'd never be a fan of DQ'ing a youth player by any means, as I think that's more on us as coaches, and these are also just kids.  I'd even be okay if the penalty was only a 5 yarder (maybe even a warning at first instance?), just something to provide a disincentive to reinforce to the players that you can't tackle like that, for the safety of both Offensive and Defensive players.  Until it gets called as a penalty, it will continue, IMO.  My heart hurts for any youth FB player that experiences a concussion.  Concussions are the primary thing killing interest in the greatest team sport in the world.  Whether you're an "old school guy" or not, we all have to realize that fact, and do our best to mitigate them.  Leading with the crown is also super dangerous for the tackler as well of course.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


CoachEmUp"

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • Karma: +33/-39
Re: Is Targeting a Penalty in Youth FB?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2019, 10:51:14 am »
Can you provide the plays on film? That would help us have a better understanding if they were fouls. But here is the rule. Remember infc goes by federation rules unless defined differently in the INFC playbook

HELMET CONTACT ILLEGAL, TARGETING

Bookmark this article

ART. 1 ... Illegal helmet contact is an act of initiating contact with the helmet against an opponent. There are several types of illegal helmet contact:

a. Butt Blocking is an act by any player who initiates contact against an opponent who is not a runner with the front of his helmet.

b. Face Tackling is an act by a defensive player who initiates contact against a runner with the front of his helmet.

c. Spearing is an act by any player who initiates contact against an opponent at the shoulders or below with the crown (top portion) of his helmet.


Bookmark this article

ART. 2 ... Targeting is an act by any player who takes aim and initiates contact against an opponent above the shoulders with the helmet, forearm, hand, fist, elbow or shoulders.
Like Like x 1 View List

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: +7/-3
Re: Is Targeting a Penalty in Youth FB?
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2019, 11:49:31 am »
Absolutely Illegal Helmet contact is a rule - please let me know what Grade/teams and plays on Front Row and we will take a look.
If you don't want it on the message board you can just private message me or send to bkelleyok@gmail.com