Author Topic: Holder on Field goals  (Read 395 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

CoachB#40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-1
Holder on Field goals
« on: November 03, 2019, 09:25:33 pm »
Is the place holder protected in 5th grade?  We had our holder hit hard twice and nothing was called either time. I thought he would be a defenseless player. 

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


zebra99

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +9/-4
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2019, 12:27:10 am »
He is not by definition a defenseless player.

The rule says He has protection and may not be charged into other than when:
A. Contact is unavoidable because it is not reasonably certain a kick will be made
B. The defense touches the the kick near the kicker and contact is unavoidable
C. Contact is slight
D. Contact is caused by the defense being blocked into the holder by the offense.

Basically, A says there must be a kick to get holder protection.  When he’s holding the ball, he is for all intents and purposes, a runner until the ball is kicked.  And B says if the ball is blocked, and as part of blocking the ball they run into the holder there is no foul.   

Targeting rules could apply if he takes aim and intentionally strikes above the shoulders, but the basic Roughing the Holder foul will not apply in these situations.

CoachB#40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2019, 06:59:27 am »
Kick was in the air he got our holder in the back then our holder went into our kicker.

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2019, 08:38:30 am »
From your description of the play that would normally be a penalty.  Do you have video of the play we could review? 

CoachB#40

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2019, 09:26:34 am »
Yeah, I would have to get from the dad who records our games.

AllIn21

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 755
  • Karma: +31/-6
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2020, 11:03:20 pm »
Wanted to expand on the holder thread. So in the case of a bad snap would the holder be called down if he has one knee down when picking up the bad snap to take off? His normal position when receiving the snap is one knee down. Does he have to be in a certain position to be able to take off on a “fire” play?

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Holder on Field goals
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2020, 11:31:37 pm »
The short answer is no he can have a knee on the ground and pick up a bad snap and advance per the rules below. 

Here is the long answer:

NFHS Rulebook - Rule 4, Section 2, Article 2 (Exceptions):
The ball remains alive if, at the snap, a place holder with his knee(s) on the ground and with a teammate in kicking position catches or recovers a snap while his knee(s) is on the ground and places the ball for a kick, or if he rises to advance, hand, kick or pass. 

Also, The ball remains alive if, at the snap, a place holder with his knee(s) on the ground and with a teammate in kicking position rises and catches or recovers an errant snap and immediately returns his knee(s) to the ground and places the ball for a kick OR again rises to advance, hand, kick or pass. 

NOTE: The ball becomes dead if the place-kick holder muffs the snap or fumbles and recovers after his knees have been off the ground and he then touches the ground with other than hand or foot while in possession of the ball. 

You might notice above that the knee(s) on the ground is only for putting the ball down for a kick.  If he is going to do anything else with the ball he needs to rise up (knee off the ground) 

Let me know if you have any other questions.