Author Topic: Clock stop on a false start or offsides penalty?  (Read 242 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Clock stop on a false start or offsides penalty?
« on: September 22, 2020, 11:39:09 am »
It depends on what happened the previous play.  If the clock was already stopped due to a timeout, incomplete pass, run out of bounds then the clock would not start after a false start or encroachment.  If it was running when the infraction happened then it would be started again after the penalty was marked off and the official sets the ball ready for play. 

Only exceptions to this would be as the game gets closer to half time or end of game and the referee felt that the team was doing it on purpose to waste time - then he could make the ball ready for play and not start the clock (even though it was running when the infraction happened) 

INFC uses the 25 second play clock once the referee sets the ball ready for play - Mighty mite gets 35 seconds.