Author Topic: Center Protected on Mighty Mites  (Read 140 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Shawnpr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
Center Protected on Mighty Mites
« on: August 19, 2020, 06:05:36 am »
Are the defensive lineman allowed to go through the gap between the center and offensive guard when the offensive line is shoulder to shoulder? Does the center being "Protected" mean there should be no contact between the defensive lineman and the center at the snap of the ball? 

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Center Protected on Mighty Mites
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2020, 07:55:29 am »
They can go in the gap but must go to the left or the right of the center - they cannot charge directly into the center.  If there is a question of whether  they went into the gap or hit the center directly I always instruct the officials to call the penalty because we are going to error on the side of safety at this age.  See #10 in the INFC rules - The Center is Always Protected.