Author Topic: Center Protected in Shotgun?  (Read 479 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

CoachSMc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1360
  • Karma: +70/-51
Center Protected in Shotgun?
« on: August 14, 2016, 10:20:38 pm »
Bobby,

Can you clarify if the center is protected when a team is in shotgun formation? I was working as the field rep this weekend and one of the officials was telling me there was some disagreement on if it is a rule. He (the referee) said that when a team is in the shotgun, a player cannot lineup over the center or make contact with the center until the ball hits the QB's hands?
Retired Youth Coach

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: +7/-3
Re: Center Protected in Shotgun?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2016, 12:13:22 am »
That is the biggest question of the weekend.

5th-7th grade has no center protection other than Field Goals/Extra Points/Punts. 

Mighty Mite - you can't even line up over the center and the center is always protected every play

3rd & 4th grade - you can line up where ever you want but the defense will not be allowed to make contact with the center on a deep snap, including shotgun formation, until such time that the ball makes contact with an offensive back or when the ball makes contact with the ground not direct hand to hand contact.  Special protection is only when the offense is in shotgun or punt formation.   

Let me know if you have any other questions on this. 

Bobby Kelley
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 10:07:56 pm by Director of Officials »
Like Like x 1 Informative Informative x 1 View List

thisisme

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Center Protected in Shotgun?
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2016, 02:21:06 pm »
In regards to 5th & 6th? is it the same as 7th?

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: +7/-3
Re: Center Protected in Shotgun?
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2016, 10:07:26 pm »
Yes it is the same in 5th and 6th grade - Sorry I meant to say that above.  I will edit it. 

buffdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Center Protected in Shotgun?
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2016, 12:58:41 pm »
I'm the McAlester 3rd Grade Coach.  So the way I understand it is, when we are in shotgun formation, there can be no contact with our center until the ball reaches the quarterback or the ground whichever comes first.  Is this correct?  I just want to make sure I understand it correctly because I plan on making some adjustments on defense tonight to make sure we aren't getting flagged.  Also what is the penalty for a violation.  Thank you.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2016, 01:08:14 pm by buffdad »

zebra99

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +9/-4
Re: Center Protected in Shotgun?
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2016, 02:02:36 pm »
First of all, the easy answer... The penalty is 15 yard personal foul for roughing the snapper. 

Now the part that's fairly straight forward but does have just a little room in the grey area...The intent of the rule is to protect the snapper from direct contact to the head or neck area until he has had a chance to protect himself. In theory by the time the ball touches a back or the ground, he should have that opportunity. Any direct contact should absolutely be called as roughing the snapper.  However, if a DL lines up on the guard or in the gap and gets blocked into the snapper, or makes slight contact with the snapper while going through the guard, it should not be a foul as this is not in anyway dangerous to him and there was no intent to contact the snapper. 



Like Like x 1 View List