Author Topic: Time out use  (Read 92 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

bbates34

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Time out use
« on: December 04, 2017, 10:44:48 pm »
The basketball rule book is very vague on time-out usage.  I have a question regarding when a time-out can be used.  I ask because it has happened to me before and different leagues vary on the topic.  My question is, can a time-out be used after a basket is scored by my team?  As soon as the ball comes through the net can I immediately call a time-out?

I had this scenario happen to me in a YMCA league so I would like to know for future reference.  We were down 4 points with 6 seconds left, we steal the ball and lay it in with 4 seconds left, so now we're down 2 points and I, as the coach, immediately call a time-out to stop the clock.  Otherwise the 4 seconds run off and the game is over.  Apparently, you must have possession in that league to call the time-out and I was given a technical foul for calling an ill-advised time-out.  In the INBC, can I call a time-out in this scenario?  Otherwise, the clock will run out without even inbounding the ball and the game is over.  I appreciate the answer in advance.

Social Buttons


Director of Officials

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Time out use
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 10:24:28 am »
The ball is dead once it goes through the basket so yes you can absolutely call a timeout (as long as you still have timeouts to burn.)  Never heard of the YMCA way, seems a little unforgiving - seems like they were treating it like you didn't have any timeout left?