Author Topic: Palming/Carrying Rule  (Read 506 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +5/-0
Palming/Carrying Rule
« on: December 13, 2016, 03:29:07 pm »
Could someone from the league please give me your take on the palming/carrying rule? I thought I recalled in prior coaches meeting hearing it defined as having the ball rest in your hand while your hand is in the horizontal position. We had a game in Owasso Saturday where it was called on one of our players four different times. To me it appeared to be nothing more than dribbling the ball from the side. Not sure if it was an overly aggressive/uninformed ref or if the league has changed its stance on the rule.


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


  • Guest
Re: Palming/Carrying Rule
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 01:12:31 pm »
I'd like to get a response on this as well. And, to add, when the hand is on the side but below (insert body part: hip, breast bone, shoulder) it is ok, but above it is not. Seen that one also - player is crossing over but crossing over "high", with the dribble well above their waist, but no call. Not that it should be but at some point it is!

Director of Officials

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
  • Karma: +10/-3
Re: Palming/Carrying Rule
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2016, 02:01:56 am »
The federation rulebook says the following:
The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.  (not really sure how this happens with both hands, as that would seem to be double dribble :) )

A little vague, but it is called the most when the dribbler gets his/her hand under the ball. 

Now the real answer to your question, it depends what level these games are being played.  If it is younger rec teams, I would think the officials would be a little more lenient when it comes to carrying (along with other violations like walking and double dribble) since this is in more of a learning environment. 
The older you get in rec league the better chance you have of this being called.

Now if you are in the Select league, carrying/walking/double dribble should be called when it happens. 

Sorry about the delay in seeing this, I will try to monitor the message board better as we go. 

Hope this helps.  If you still have questions you are welcome to email me or call. 
918-607-2055 cell

Have a Merry Christmas!
Bobby Kelley
Director of Officials